Airline Transport Pilot Licence Theory (ATPL) - (Senior Commercial Pilot Theory)

Nelson Aviation College in partnership with Waypoints Aviation and Dragonflight Aviation, is offering ATPL theory ground courses in autumn and spring each year. Each subject is taught individually with exams available each week to enable students to attend individual subjects or the entire course. ATPL theory is a level 6 course.

The full ATPL course will be offered in Autumn and Spring 2022

Course One April 2022
Tuesday 5th April Instruments & Nav Aids Exams 11th April 
Tuesday 12th April Navigation Exams 22nd April
Tuesday 26th April Human Factors Exams 2nd May
Monday 9th May Law Exams 16th May
Tuesday 17th May Systems & Performance Exams 27th May
Tuesday 31st May Flight Planning Exams 10th June
Monday 20th June Meteorology Exams 1st July
Course Two October 2022
Tuesday 4th October Instruments & Nav Aids Exams 10th October 
Tuesday 11th October Meteorology Exams 21st October
Tuesday 25th October Human Factors Exams 31st October
Monday 7th November Law Exams 14th November
Tuesday 15th November Systems & Performance Exams 25th November
Monday 28th May Flight Planning Exams 5th December
Tuesday 6th December Navigation Exams 14th December

Applications will be accepted for individual courses or for the full seven subjects. It is our intention that you will be able to sit each ATPL exam, if you wish, through ASL within a day or two of the course. Students may choose to book their exam at a different time. It is highly recommended that you are current at CPL level prior to attending any or all of the modules.

The course will be delivered in the Nelson Aviation College ATPL Training Classroom, Queen Victoria Street, Motueka. Please make your own bookings for accommodation after deciding which modules you will attend. Please bring or purchase your own lunch each day. Each module will start at 10 am on day one to allow for travel time and then 08:30 am for each subsequent day. The course will end at approximately 16:30 each day.

To confirm your placement on a full course or on an individual subject please complete the attached registration form and forward your payment to Nelson Aviation College. Your placement will be confirmed on receipt of payment. Please note that places are limited and course fees are non refundable. Exam costs are additional.

Self-Funding and International Students 2022 Fees: $5,315.50

  • Course costs include all tuition, course notes and textbooks. Equipment and ASPEQ exam fees are not included.